top of page

Seven Ship Maritime History Series
Mayflower: The Voyage from Hell
Darwin's Odyssey: The Voyage of the Beagle
The Queen's Pirate: Sir Francis Drake and the Golden Hind
Nelson's Victory: Trafalgar & Tragedy 
Cook's Endeavour: Voyage to Botany Bay


“Kevin Jackson’s thrilling sea stories, told with verve, wit and dash, make the most gripping reading. Here are the men, women, ships and adventures which made so much of the modern world, and Britain’s place within it. Sir Francis Drake and Charles Darwin are lucky to have found such an erudite and elegant scribe as Kevin Jackson.” Horation Clare

Can of Worms is delighted to announce the acquisition of seven books on the seafaring sagas of Britain’s most famous ships and voyagers.

The Seven Ship Maritime History series commemorates the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower setting sail from Plymouth to the New World and will publish in the United States on the 11th November, the date the ship laid anchor in Cape Cod.


Mayflower: The Voyage from Hell is the first of the seven titles. “The commemoration of the sailing is a timely reminder in a time of increased suppression of human migration”, says publisher Tobias Steed. “Jackson looks at the reality behind the mythic status of the Mayflower - and the journey that 'created' the New World. Most of the voyagers of that famed 1620 crossing of the Atlantic were not in fact religious pilgrims, but people intent on forging a better life for themselves in the virgin territory of America's east coast. 130 hardy souls were confined in a space no bigger than a tennis court, braving the 'Northern' crossing, without any firm idea of what awaited them in the New World. Jackson’s is a riveting account of the sailing that changed the world.”

bottom of page